Sipef Headquarters

Kasteel Calesberg - Calesbergdreef 5
B-2900 Schoten - Belgium
Phone: +32 3 641 97 00


  • According to available sources, the first “Book of Tea” was written by Lu Yu in 780 AD and the types of ‘green’, ‘black’ and ‘oolong’ teas made their first appearance under the Ming Dynasty during 1368-1644.

    Tea is derived from the plant called Camellia Sinensis. It is an evergreen tree that grows in sub-tropic and tropical regions from sea level to over 6000 feet.

  • There are many different kinds of tea grown in different regions of the world, which varie due to soil and climatic conditions.

    For commercial plantations, new plants are grown from seeds or clones. They are nurtured in the nurseries for a year and then transplanted into the fields.

  • The productive life of tea bushes can be up to 50-60 years. From the time of plantation it takes about 3-5 years before the new tea bush starts giving yield.

    Quality tea comes from the tender leaves of the plant and are manually plucked by experienced hands looking for the “two leaves and a bud”. Once plucked, the tea leaves are placed into baskets. Proper care is taken to see that the leaves are not crushed because once they get bruised, the breakdown of enzymes begins, affecting the quality of the tea. After plucking, the leaves must rapidly be transported to the factory for processing.

    Tea is classified according to the country of origin, the size of the processed leaf and more specifically, by the type of manufacturing process followed. The three major categories resulting from different manufacturing processes are Black Tea, Green Tea and Oolong Tea.

    read more ...